## **APPROVED BY COMMITTEE 12/3/15**

## OLD DOMINION UNIVERSITY BOARD OF VISITORS

## **AUDIT COMMITTEE**

Thursday, September 24, 2015

## **MINUTES**

The Audit Committee of the Board of Visitors met on Thursday, September 24, 2015 at 8:33 a.m. in the Board of Visitors Room on the Norfolk campus. Present from the Committee were:

Judith O. Swystun, Chair
Frank Reidy, Vice Chair
David L. Bernd
John F. Biagas, (ex-officio)
Mary Maniscalco-Theberge
Ronald C. (ex-officio)
Robert M. Tata

Other Board of Visitors members present were:

Charles Chiou Alton J. (Jay) Harris

Absent were: None

Also present were:

Mikayla Alquist
President John R. Broderick
Dan Genard
Giovanna Genard
Velvet L. Grant
Rhonda Harris
R. Earl Nance
Ellen Neufeldt
Amanda Skaggs
Deb Swiecinski
Rusty Waterfield
James D. Wright

Donna Meeks

The Chair called the meeting to order at 8:33 a.m. Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge moved to approve the minutes from the June 11, 2015 meeting. Mr. Reidy seconded the motion and the minutes were unanimously approved by all members present and voting. (*Bernd, Biagas, Maniscalco-Theberge, Reidy, Ripley, Swystun, Tata*)

Amanda Skaggs, Internal Audit Director, reported to the Committee on the outcome of the Quality Assurance Improvement Program (QAIP), which is

required by audit professional standards.	External assessments must be conducted at least every

College of Continuing Education and Professional Development and the annual review of the

.

Next, Dr. Maniscalco-Theberge read a closed session statement and moved to convene in closed session. Ms. Swystun seconded the motion. The Committee then received, in closed session, details of recent audits and reviews performed in the areas of Engagement and Enrollment Services. Specifically covered were the audits of Athletic Sports Camps and Tennis Center and the Office of Admissions.

The Committee reconvened in open session. The Chair read the certification statement for the closed session. The certificate was unanimously approved and agreed upon by all members present and voting. (Bernd, Biagas, Maniscalco-Theberge, Reidy, Ripley, Swystun, Tata)

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 8:58 a.m.